Sunday, September 30, 2012

TRUCKS: Greenfield Last In Lind Team’s Truck Series Debut

SOURCE: Daylife
Clay Greenfield picked up the 2nd last-place finish of his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series career in Saturday’s Smith’s 350 at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway when his #00 Obregon Construction Ford fell out with overheating problems after he completed 3 of the race’s 146 laps.

Both of Greenfield’s finishes have come this season, with the first taking place at Charlotte, twelve races ago.

Greenfield was locked into his seventh start of the 2012 season as only 34 trucks showed up for 36 spots. His previous six starts came while driving for his own team, Clay Greenfield Motorsports, for which he last raced to a 34th-place finish at Bristol. Las Vegas would seem him debut a new team, the #00 fielded by Rick Lind.

Greenfield qualified 31st at an average speed of 165.578 mph, then exited the race during the caution for Todd Bodine’s opening-lap spin in turn four. This allowed him to edge RSS Racing’s Chris Jones, who pulled out the #38 one lap later. Dennis Setzer, the current LASTCAR Truck Series leader, fell out after 7 laps in the RSS #93 and finished 31st.

*This was the first last-place finish for the #00 in a Truck Series race since 2007, when Ken Butler’s Aaron’s Lucky Dog Toyota lost the engine after 167 laps of the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Ohio 250 at Mansfield. It is only the sixth time the number has finished last in any Truck Series race; the other four were picked up by Ryan McGlynn in 1999 and 2000.
*Greenfield’s was the first Ford to finish last in a Truck Series race at Las Vegas since 2003, when Rick Crawford’s #14 Circle Bar Motel & RV Park Ford lost the engine after 3 laps of the Las Vegas 350.

34) #00-Clay Greenfield / 3 laps / overheating
33) #38-Chris Jones / 4 laps / vibration
32) #25-B.J. McLeod / 5 laps / overheating
31) #93-Dennis Setzer / 7 laps / vibration
30) #07-Johnny Chapman / 11 laps / rear gear

1st) Dennis Setzer (3)
2nd) Johnny Chapman, Clay Greenfield (2)
3rd) T.J. Bell, Jeb Burton, Rick Crawford, Grant Enfinger, Blake Koch, Jennifer Jo Cobb, Brandon Knupp, Jason Leffler, Brennan Newberry, Scott Riggs (1)

1st) #38-RSS Racing (3)
2nd) #0-Jennifer Jo Cobb, #27-Hillman Racing (2)
3rd) #5-Wauters Motorsports, #10-Jennifer Jo Cobb, #14-Bob Newberry, #18-Kyle Busch Motorsports, #60-Turn One Racing, #68-Clay Greenfield Motorsports, #86-Clay Greenfield Motorsports, #74-Mike Harmon, #00-Rick Lind, #07-Ken Smith (1)

1st) Chevrolet (9)
2nd) Ford, RAM (3)
3rd) Toyota (2)

No comments: