Sunday, November 6, 2011

TRUCKS: Garvey Ties Bonifield For Most Last-Place Finishes In A Single Truck Series Season

Mike Garvey picked up the 11th last-place finish of his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series career in Friday’s WinStar World Casino 350k at the Texas Motor Speedway when his unsponsored #38 RSS Racing Chevrolet fell out with clutch issues after completing 5 of the race’s 148 laps.

The finish was Garvey’s sixth in 2011 and his second in as many races. This six-finish season ties that of 1999 LASTCAR Truck Series Champion Phil Bonifield for the most last-place runs in a single Truck Series season. Garvey can break this record with a last-place run in the Homestead finale in two weeks.

Garvey also ties Bonifield for the second-most last-place finishes in Truck Series history. Both trail all-time leader Wayne Edwards’ record of 13.

Garvey qualified 30th for Friday’s race at a speed of 175.524 mph, good enough to bump three other teams out of the field. Among those DNQs was second-ranked Norm Benning in his #57 Chevrolet.

SPEED’s scoring ticker showed at least three different changes for the 36th spot between Johnny Chapman, Mike Harmon, and T.J. Bell. However, when the final results were shown, it was Garvey in 36th, having exited the race after only five laps.

Chapman, driving Ken Smith’s #07 Toyota, found himself an unwilling participant in the night’s most controversial moment. On Lap 13, he was being lapped by Ron Hornaday, Jr. and Kyle Busch when the two faster trucks slid into the wall. Busch’s subsequent wrecking of Hornaday under caution led to NASCAR’s decision to park him for the night and, ultimately, for the rest of the weekend. This put both Hornaday and Busch - and their teams - in the Bottom Five for the first time in 2011.

Chapman, who avoided contact in the initial wreck, went on to finish 29th.

*Garvey scored one other Truck Series last-place finish at Texas back in 2010 when his #93 S&W Services Chevrolet fell out with transmission trouble six laps into the 2010 WinStar World Casino 400k, held in June.
*This is the first Truck Series last-place finish at Texas for the #38.

36) #38-Mike Garvey / 5 laps / clutch
35) #87-Chris Jones / 10 laps / transmission
34) #33-Ron Hornaday, Jr. / 13 laps / crash
33) #18-Kyle Busch / 14 laps / parked
32) #0-T.J. Bell / 19 laps / vibration

1st) Mike Garvey (6)
2nd) Norm Benning, Chris Lafferty, Brent Raymer (2)
3rd) Johnny Borneman III, James Buescher, Chris Jones, Mike Harmon, Jennifer Jo Cobb, Travis Kvapil, Johanna Long, Scott Riggs, Greg Seevers, Dennis Setzer, Brad Sweet, J.J. Yeley (1)

1st) #38-Shane Sieg (5)
2nd) #10-Jennifer Jo Cobb, #57-Norm Benning Racing, #75-Norm Benning Racing, #93-Shane Sieg (2)
3rd) #5-Randy Moss, #20-Panhandle Motorsports, #27-Shane Sieg, #31-Turner Motorsports, #32-Turner Motorsports, #65-Joey Sonntag, #66-Turn One Racing, #74-Mike Harmon, #87-Rick Jones, #89-Chris Lafferty, #07-SS Green Light Racing (1)

1st) Chevrolet (19)
2nd) Toyota (3)
3rd) Ford (2)

No comments: