Monday, October 4, 2010

N’WIDE: Jeff Green, Now Tied For 2nd In Series Rankings, Continues Late Season Rally At Kansas

Jeff Green picked up the 13th last-place finish of his NASCAR Nationwide Series career in Saturday’s Kansas Lottery 300 at the Kansas Speedway when his unsponsored #36 TriStar Motorsports Chevrolet fell out with suspension problems after completing 2 of the race’s 200 laps. The finish ties Green for 2nd in the LASTCAR Nationwide Series rankings along with Ed Berrier. The two trail all-time Nationwide Series leader Jeff Fuller by 11 finishes.

Green qualified 35th for the race at a speed of 167.634 mph, good enough to beat eleven other teams that were not locked-into the field based on Owner Points. In the race itself, Green pulled behind the wall one lap before both Brian Keselowski’s #26 and the #91 D’Hont-Humphrey Motorsports car of David Gilliland, Keselowski edging Gilliland for 42nd based on track position the previous lap.

Keselowski’s #92, still leading the LASTCAR Nationwide Series Owner’s Rankings for 2010, failed to qualify when driver Andy Ponstein turned in the fastest time of the six teams that missed the race. Joining Ponstein were third-ranked Johnny Chapman in Morgan Shepherd’s #89 and two-time 2010 last-placers Mark Green and Kevin Lepage.

*A Nationwide Series driver had not finished last because of suspension failure since 2008, when all-time LASTCAR leader Derrike Cope’s #4 JVC / ALLINENERGY.COM Chevrolet fell out three laps into the 2008 Dollar General 300 at Charlotte.
*Neither Green nor the #36 had ever before finished last in a Nationwide Series race at Kansas.

43) #36-Jeff Green / 2 laps / suspension
42) #26-Brian Keselowski / 3 laps / vibration
41) #91-David Gilliland / 3 laps / electrical
40) #52-Kevin Lepage / 12 laps / overheating
39) #90-Danny O’Quinn, Jr. / 21 laps / electrical

1st) Dennis Setzer (9)
2nd) Jeff Green (5)
3rd) Mark Green, Kevin Lepage (2)
4th) Willie Allen, Michael Annett, Johnny Borneman III, Matt Carter, Johnny Chapman, David Gilliland, Jennifer Jo Cobb, Brian Keselowski, Justin Marks, Danny O'Quinn, Jr., Chrissy Wallace (1)

1st) #92-K-Automotive Motorsports (10)
2nd) #36-Mark Smith (5)
3rd) #15-Germain Racing, #27-Curb Motorsports, #41-Rick Ware, #43-Curb Motorsports, #49-Jay Robinson, Inc., #56-John McNelly, #70-Mary Louise Miller, #82-MacDonald Motorsports, #83-John Borneman, Jr., #90-D'Hont Humphrey Motorsports, #91-D'Hont Humphrey Motorsports, #96-K-Automotive Motorsports, #04-Johnny Davis Motorsports, #05-Wayne Day (1)

No comments: