Tuesday, August 10, 2010

TRUCKS: Long’s Post-Entry 2-For-2 After Overheating At Nashville

Carl Long picked up the 4th last-place finish of his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series career in Saturday’s Nashville 200 at the Nashville Superspeedway when his unsponsored #95 Team Gill Racing Dodge fell out with overheating problems after completing 1 of the race’s 200 laps.

Long entered the race as one of two post-entries, the other being Mike Harmon’s #24, when the Nashville race was short on competitors. The addition of Long and Harmon still kept the field at just 35 trucks, creating the first short field for a Truck race since last fall’s 35-truck race at Las Vegas.

Long qualified 24th at a speed of 148.299 mph, ranking him 4th among the trucks not locked-into the field based on Owner Points. On race night, he pulled behind the wall three laps before Johanna Long crashed out of her Truck Series debut for the first caution of the night. LASTCAR Truck Series leader Mike Garvey fell out after eight laps while Harmon’s post-entry called it a night after 14 laps.

*Long now joins LASTCAR leader Mike Garvey as the only two drivers to score more than one last-place finish in the Truck Series this season.
*Long is the second driver to finish last in consecutive races this season: Mike Garvey was last in this season’s races at Charlotte and Texas.
*The #95 had never before finished last in a Truck race at Nashville Superspeedway.
*The two 2010 races at Nashville were the first ones where Dodge finished last: G.R. Smith’s #50 MAKE Motorsports / Ronald McDonald House Dodge was last in the back in April.

35) #95-Carl Long / 1 lap / overheating
34) #15-Johanna Long / 3 laps / crash
33) #93-Mike Garvey / 8 laps / vibration
32) #16-J.C. Stout / 9 laps / overheating
31) #24-Mike Harmon / 14 laps / brakes

1st) Mike Garvey (3)
2nd) Carl Long (2)
3rd) Landon Cassill, Johnny Chapman, Mike Harmon, Chris Jones, Narain Karthikeyan, Chris Lafferty, Shane Sieg, G.R. Smith, J.C. Stout (1)

1st) #93-Shane Sieg (4)
2nd) #89-Chris Lafferty, #95-Danny Gill (2)
3rd) #16-Rick Ware, #50-Mark Beaver, #60-Jeff Wyler, #72-Mario Gosselin, #87-Rick Jones, #98-Duke Thorson (1)

No comments: