Monday, August 16, 2010

TRUCKS: First-Timer Oliver Gets Owner Danny Gill His Third Straight at Darlington

Dillon Oliver picked up the 1st last-place finish of his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series career in Saturday’s Too Tough to Tame 200 at the Darlington Raceway when his unsponsored #95 Team Gill Racing Dodge fell out with engine problems after completing 2 of the race’s 147 laps. The finish came in Oliver’s 5th career Truck Series start.

Oliver replaced Carl Long in owner Danny Gill’s #95 for the race as one of five post-entries that completed the 36-truck field. Oliver was the slowest overall, having not registered a qualifying speed, and he remained in the back due to an engine change before the race. These problems accounted for the #95's early exit on lap 2 along with Scotland’s John Jackson, who drove Mario Gosselin’s #72 that finished last with Johnny Chapman at Gateway.

Four of the bottom five finishing positions were occupied by the post-entries, excepting current LASTCAR Truck Series leader Mike Garvey in 32nd. Chris Lafferty’s #24, the fifth post-entry, finished 31st after overheating problems ended his day after 16 laps.

*It was the third consecutive last-place finish by owner Danny Gill and his #95 Dodge. No team nor number had finished last in three consecutive Truck Series races since owner Gene Christensen’s #0 finished last at Michigan, Milwaukee, and Memphis in mid-2008. Three different drivers drove the #0 in that span: Chris Jones, Johnny Chapman, and LASTCAR Truck Series All-Time leader Wayne Edwards.
*The #95 had never before finished last in a Truck Series race at Darlington.

36) #95-Dillon Oliver / 2 laps / engine
35) #72-John Jackson / 2 laps / brakes
34) #16-Justin Hobgood / 7 laps / overheating
33) #87-Chris Jones / 11 laps / rear gear
32) #93-Mike Garvey / 12 laps / handling

1st) Mike Garvey (3)
2nd) Carl Long (2)
3rd) Landon Cassill, Johnny Chapman, Mike Harmon, Chris Jones, Narain Karthikeyan, Chris Lafferty, Dillon Oliver, Shane Sieg, G.R. Smith, J.C. Stout (1)

1st) #93-Shane Sieg (4)
2nd) #95-Danny Gill (3)
3rd) #89-Chris Lafferty (2)
4th) #16-Rick Ware, #50-Mark Beaver, #60-Jeff Wyler, #72-Mario Gosselin, #87-Rick Jones, #98-Duke Thorson (1)

No comments: