Tuesday, August 31, 2010

TRUCKS: Andrews’ First Last-Place Finish Moves #95 Team Into Tie For 2010 Lead

Tim Andrews picked up the 1st last-place finish of his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series career in Friday’s EnjoyIllinois.com 225 at the Chicagoland Speedway when his unsponsored #95 Team Gill Racing Dodge fell out with overheating problems after completing 2 of the race’s 225 laps. The finish came in Andrews’ 5th series start.

Andrews qualified 27th at a speed of 167.806 mph, nearly half a second faster than the #72 of Johnny Chapman and the #99 of John Jackson, who were the only two trucks to miss the race. These newer teams were also the only two not locked-into the field; Andrews was locked into the show and his truck was no longer a post-entry.

Still, lacking sponsorship, Andrews was the first behind the wall. Current LASTCAR Truck Series Driver leader Mike Garvey fell out after 15 laps with transmission problems and finished 33rd. Although continues to lead the 2010 Driver’s Rankings, the four combined finishes by Carl Long, Dillon Oliver, and Andrews have moved the #95 team into a tie with Garvey’s #93 for the lead in the Owner’s Rankings with eight races still to go.

*Dodge now has five consecutive last-place finishes in the Truck Series, four of which all belonging to Team Gill Racing’s #95. The fifth was Jason White’s finish in last week’s O’Reilly 200 at Bristol. G.R. Smith’s #50 was the only other Dodge to finish last in a Truck Series race this year when Smith lost the engine after 27 laps.

36) #95-Tim Andrews / 2 laps / overheating
35) #85-Brent Raymer / 4 laps / handling
34) #89-Mike Harmon / 7 laps / overheating
33) #93-Mike Garvey / 15 laps / transmission
32) #87-Chris Jones / 17 laps / electrical

1st) Mike Garvey (3)
2nd) Carl Long (2)
3rd) Tim Andrews, Landon Cassill, Johnny Chapman, Mike Harmon, Chris Jones, Narain Karthikeyan, Chris Lafferty, Dillon Oliver, Shane Sieg, G.R. Smith, J.C. Stout, Jason White (1)

1st) #93-Shane Sieg, #95-Danny Gill (4)
2nd) #89-Chris Lafferty (2)
3rd) #16-Rick Ware, #23-Steve Urvan, #50-Mark Beaver, #60-Jeff Wyler, #72-Mario Gosselin, #87-Rick Jones, #98-Duke Thorson (1)

No comments: